Yesterday

I got baptised yesterday. Very short, very sweet ceremony. Not full immersion, my church doesn’t do that. Confirmation was about as short. I don’t mind. What’s important is that I did it.

I read a poem, and that went fine as well. No stuttering or anything. I was about more nervous about that, standing in front and looking at all the people. So many friends and family showed up, but then, there were five of us doing confirmation. There was a long line of people waiting to congratulate us, and welcome us into the congegration. Makes me feel warm and fuzzy. Not that I ever felt unwelcome in that church.

Not feeling very different. I wasn’t expecting I would, well, not much. Maybe slightly. No, I feel much the same, though happy I have done this.

Scripture spoken during the laying on of hands:

“For the Son of God, Jesus Christ, who was preached among you by me and Silas and Timothy, was not “Yes” and “No,” but in him it has always been “Yes.” For no matter how many promises God has made, they are “Yes” in Christ. And so through him the “Amen” is spoken by us to the glory of God. Now it is God who makes both us and you stand firm in Christ. He anointed us, set his seal of ownership on us, and put his Spirit in our hearts as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come.” 2 Cor 1:19-22

Leave a Reply

